Richmond DUI Defense Lawyers
Reckless driving in the state of Virginia carries a number of serious consequences – especially if you’ve already been convicted for other serious traffic violations. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, if convicted you be heavily fined, have your driver’s license suspended, and be sent to jail. And, since insurance companies regularly gather information on DUI and traffic violation arrests, your car insurance is likely to increase substantially.
At the law office of CowanGates, our DUI and traffic offense lawyers work closely with clients and the court in an effort to minimize the impact of a repeat DUI or serious traffic violation offense. Depending on your driving record and case, our attorneys may be able to have the charges or sentence against you reduced.
Don’t lose your license or go to jail for any longer than you have to – contact traffic violations and DUI defense attorneys at the law office of CowanGates today to schedule an appointment and discuss your case.
Reckless Driving and Serious Traffic Violations
A charge of reckless driving can be attached to other traffic violations. Depending on the circumstances involved, the following traffic offenses may lead to an additional charge of reckless driving:
- Speeding 20 mph over the posted speed limit or driving over 80 mph
- Driving aggressively
- Hit and run accidents
- Running a stop sign
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Passing a loading or unloading school bus
- Fleeing from the police
- Passing in a no-passing zone
- Speeding in a highway construction zone
Penalties associated with Reckless Driving Convictions
Although each case is different, you could face the following penalties if convicted for reckless driving:
- A fine up to $2,500
- A permanent criminal record
- Points against your driving license
- Up to 12 months in jail
- The suspension or revocation of your license
- Increased insurance rates
DUI Penalties in the State of Virginia
In the state of Virginia, penalties and fines increase with each subsequent DUI conviction. Additionally, penalties increase if you had an underage passenger in your car at the time of your arrest or were involved in an accident that resulted in injury or death to others. The following is a general overview of penalties that apply to repeat DUI offenders:
- First DUI: Up to twelve months jail time and $2,500 fine; a minimum fine of $250; revocation of driver’s license for one year.
- Second DUI: Up to twelve months jail time and $2,500 fine; a minimum fine of $500; revocation of driver’s license for three years If convicted for second DUI within 5 years of your first, a mandatory, minimum 20-day jail sentence will be imposed. If convicted for your second DUI within ten years of your first, a mandatory, minimum 10-day jail sentence is imposed.
- Third DUI: Up to five years in a penitentiary and a $2,500 fine; a minimum $1,000 fine; mandatory revocation of driver’s license for an indefinite period of time; prosecution as a Class 6 felony. If convicted for third DUI within 5 years of your first, a minimum, mandatory 6 month jail sentence will be imposed; if convicted within 10 years of your first, a 90-day mandatory, minimum jail sentence will be imposed and your car must be forfeited if you are its sole owner.
- Fourth DUI: Up to five years in a penitentiary and a $2,500 fine; a mandatory, minimum one year jail time.
- BAC of 0.15% and not higher than 0.20% at the time of arrest: First offense carries a mandatory, minimum five-day jail term in addition to all other penalties. Second offense within ten years carries a mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term in addition to all other penalties.
- BAC of 0.20% or higher at the time of arrest: First offense carries a mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term in addition to all other penalties. Second offense within ten years carries a mandatory, minimum 20-day jail term in addition to all other penalties.
Contact DUI Defense Attorneys at CowanGates Today
We have extensive experience in defending people who have been arrested for drunk driving or a serious traffic violation. In many cases, we can help you avoid losing your license, even if it means you must install an ignition interlock device. To learn more about how we can help you, contact DUI defense attorneys at the law office of CowanGates today.