If you get a DUI in Virginia, getting arrested is just the start of your problems.
CowanGates encourages you to celebrate safely over Labor Day weekend. If you choose to get behind the wheel and drive drunk, expect serious consequences, especially in Virginia, where the laws are very tough on drunk and drugged drivers.
That’s why, if you make the mistake of driving under the influence, you’d need an experienced DUI attorneys on your side to help fight your case if you’ve been charged with a DUI or DWI in Virginia.
In addition to a restricted or suspended license, here are five costly penalties that may result from getting a DUI:
1: TOWED VEHICLE
It’s possible for your vehicle to be impounded or immobilized for 90+ days. Not having a car is inconvenient, but getting it back from the towing company can cost upwards of $200. Save yourself the money and embarrassment by choosing a sober ride home.
2: DRIVING CLASSES
Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Programs (VASAP) can run you up to $1,000 and require 10 weeks of participation in VASAP classes. Keep in mind, the initial court charges are already draining your pockets with a $250 minimum fine for a first offense and a $500 fine if it’s a repeated charge.
3: IGNITION INTERLOCK
Every person convicted of a DUI charge in Virginia is legally required to have an ignition interlock installed in their vehicle for a minimum of six months. Before allowing the car to start, the driver must blow into a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) test device to verify they aren’t drunk behind the wheel. The interlock installation will cost approximately $300, plus a monthly monitoring fee of $50 for a minimum of six months.
4: RESTITUTION & COURT FINES
You may be liable for the dispatch of law enforcement, emergency medical and fire services, and rescue personnel if you’re at fault in a DUI crash or incident in Virginia. The restitution fine can cost up to $1,000 for this violation. On top of the restitution fines, court fines can amount to $3,000 depending on the severity of your DUI case.
5: JAIL TIME
It’s not uncommon for DUI offenders in Virginia to receive up to 12 months in jail depending on their BAC level. For a first offense DUI with a BAC greater than .15 or if you were in an accident, you’ll likely serve time in jail. If you happen to spend the night in jail during the day of your arrest, you may receive the option to post bail, which can cost between $500 to $2,500. However, the penalties increase drastically if you have multiple DUIs in your past.
No one expects to get a DUI, but if you find yourself facing a DUI you want an experienced lawyer on your side.
Contact an Experienced DUI Defense Lawyer in Richmond, VA
To speak with one of our trustworthy DUI defense attorneys in Richmond, Virginia, who have successfully handled hundreds of DUI cases, call 804-320-9100 today and ask to speak with Neil Cowan, David Gates, or Rusty Gates.
CowanGates | 1930 Huguenot Road | Richmond, VA 23235 | 804-320-9100 | 800-948-7160 | CowanGates.com